Punk Phenoms PUP Win $10,000 SOCAN Songwriting Prize - SOCAN

Punk Phenoms PUP Win $10,000 SOCAN Songwriting Prize

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Toronto, July 12, 2017 – Toronto-based punk band PUP have been voted the winner of the 12th annual English SOCAN Songwriting Prize for their song “DVP,” written by band members Stefan Babcock, Nestor Chumak, Zachary Mykula, and Steven Sladkowski.

Canadian music fans made their voices heard as they voted for their favourite songs among 10 finalists nominated by a panel of music industry experts. PUP receives a $10,000 cash prize along with a Yamaha PSR-S970 Keyboard, an Epiphone Masterbilt Century Olympic Guitar, and a $500 gift card from Long & McQuade.

“We are extremely grateful to have been considered for this songwriting award. We have tremendous respect for the other nine artists who were shortlisted – they’ve all spent countless hours and sleepless nights cutting their teeth and fretting over each and every tiny detail of their songs, and we are proud to be in their company,” said Stefan Babcock of PUP. “Also, big thanks to our fans and everyone who voted or participated in this process at all. It is nice to be recognized for hard work alongside the other incredible nominees, and we all appreciate your support! And of course, thanks to SOCAN for their continued support as advocates, educators and, above all, music lovers. We are lucky to have you.”

The SOCAN Songwriting Prize recognizes emerging songwriters by identifying 10 outstanding songs created over the past year, as selected by a panel of 15 esteemed music industry experts. The general public is then invited to vote daily for their favourite to determine the winner. SOCAN plays no role in determining the nominees or winners outside of ensuring they are members of the Canadian music rights organization. A mirroring competition for songs in French, the Prix de la chanson SOCAN, is conducted separately.

“Although only one song can win we are thrilled to present the opportunity to place a spotlight on and celebrate some of Canada’s next and best music creators,” said Michael McCarty, SOCAN Chief Membership & Business Development Officer. “‘DVP’ is a frenetically brilliant and creative song, and we wish Stefan, Nestor, Zach and Steve continued success and accolades in what is sure to be a long and prosperous career.”

The winners of the Prix de la chanson SOCAN were Klô Pelgag and Karl Gagnon for their song “Les ferrofluides-fleurs,” as performed by Klô Pelgag.

The other nine songs nominated in the English category were:

  • “Acid Test” – written by Tommy Paxton-Beesley, Thadeus Gardwood, Johnathan Mavrogiannis, Dan Voicu; performed by River Tiber; published by Raise Your Hands Music [Arts & Crafts Music].
  • “Big Boy” – written by Charlotte Cardin; performed by Charlotte Cardin.
  • “Figures” – written by Jessie Reyez, Bjoran Johan, Tobias Frelin, Blake Carter; performed by Jessie Reyez; published by BMG Rights Management.
  • “Glowed Up” – written by Kevin Celestin, Brandon Anderson; performed by Kaytranada featuring Anderson .Paak; published by Watch and Learn/BMI, PULSE, Casablanca Publishing.
  • “Push + Pull” – written by Thomas D’Arcy, Ian Docherty, Peter Dreimanis, Leah Goldstein, Danny Miles, Josh Warburton; performed by July Talk; published by July Talk Music Inc., GalleryAC Music.
  • “Shithole” – written by Jasmyn Burke, Morgan Waters; performed by Weaves.
  • “We Don’t Know ” – written by Jeremy Drury, Jonathan Hembrey, Darryl James, Brian Pickett, David Ritter, Isabel Ritchie, Joanne Setterington; performed by The Strumbellas; published by Domino Music Publishing.
  • “Won’t Live Here “ – written by Ashton Simmonds, Jordan Evans, Matthew Burnett, Tommy Paxton-Beesley, Ian Culley, Alexander Ernewein; performed by Daniel Caesar; published by Kobalt Music Publishing & Raise Your Hands Music [Arts & Crafts Music].
  • Work” – written by Charlotte Day Wilson; performed by Charlotte Day Wilson; published by Raise Your Hands Music [Arts & Crafts Music].

The 2016 winner of the SOCAN Songwriting Prize was Fast Romantics for “Julia” written by band member Matthew Angus. Additional winners are available to view on the SOCAN Songwriting Prize website.

SOCAN connects more than four-million music creators worldwide and more than a quarter-million businesses and individuals in Canada. Nearly 150,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers are its direct members, and more than 130,000 organizations are Licensed To Play music across Canada. With a concerted use of progressive technology and a commitment to lead the global transformation of music rights, with wholly-owned companies Audiam and MediaNet, SOCAN is dedicated to upholding the fundamental truths that music has value and music creators and publishers deserve fair compensation for their work.

Media contacts
Environics Communications (for SOCAN): Valerie Burnatowski, 416-969-2717, vburnatowski@environicspr.com
SOCAN: Nicole Van Severen, 416-445-8700 x 3460, nicole.vanseveren@socan.com