Back to top

Politique de confidentialité

La présente politique de confidentialité a été modifiée en septembre 2018.

À PROPOS DE LA SOCAN

La Société canadienne des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs de musique (SOCAN, « nous », « notre ») est la plus importante organisation de gestion de droits au Canada ; elle représente les droits de millions de créateurs et d’éditeurs canadiens et internationaux et octroie des licences pour l’utilisation des œuvres musicales figurant à son répertoire. La SOCAN est fière de jouer un rôle de premier plan pour assurer le succès à long terme de ses nombreux membres ainsi que de l’industrie musicale canadienne dans son ensemble.

Un des volets cruciaux de l’engagement de la SOCAN envers ses membres, licenciés, employés et visiteurs (« vous » ou « vos ») est le respect de votre droit à la confidentialité. La SOCAN est reconnaissante de pouvoir vous servir et vise les plus hauts standards d’excellence à ce chapitre. Cela inclut notamment la stricte confidentialité de vos informations et activités ainsi que le plus haut degré de transparence en ce qui a trait à l’utilisation, la divulgation et les pratiques entourant vos renseignements personnels.

L’ENGAGEMENT DE LA SOCAN

Cette politique s’applique à toutes vos « données personnelles » recueillies, utilisées et divulguées par la SOCAN. La notion de « renseignements permettant de vous identifier » signifie toute information qui permet de vous identifier et on la désigne parfois par le terme « données personnelles ». Votre numéro d’assurance sociale, votre numéro de carte de crédit ou une photo de vous sont tous des exemples de renseignements permettant de vous identifier.

L’objectif de la présente politique est de vous offrir un aperçu des affaires de la SOCAN et d’être le reflet de l’engagement de la SOCAN à se conformer aux exigences de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) et des autres lois applicables en matière de protection des renseignements personnels en ce qui concerne le traitement des renseignements permettant de vous identifier.

Si vous êtes situés dans l’Espace économique européen (EEE), nous ne traiterons vos données personnelles qu’à des fins spécifiques et vous avez certains droits en vertu des lois européennes encadrant vos renseignements personnels, y compris le droit de demander d’avoir accès, corriger, modifier, supprimer ou limiter l’utilisation de ces renseignements personnels. Pour plus d’information au sujet de ces droits, des fins et des motifs légitimes pour lesquels nous traitons vos données personnelles, consultez ce lien « Document EEE ». Si vous souhaitez vous prévaloir de ces droits ou avez des questions ou des préoccupations, veuillez communiquer avec nous aux coordonnées ci-dessous. Si vous êtes situés dans l’EEE, cette Politique et le document EEE s’appliquent à notre traitement de vos données personnelles. Nous vous invitons à en prendre connaissance, et s’il y a conflit entre les deux, le Document EEE a préséance.

De plus, si vous êtes situés dans l’EEE, notez que nous traitons généralement vos données personnelles afin de remplir nos obligations en vertu de votre contrat d’adhésion ou dans le déroulement légitime de nos intérêts commerciaux, sauf si nous sommes contraints par la loi d’obtenir votre consentement pour une opération en particulier.

COMMUNIQUER AVEC NOUS

Pour s’assurer que la SOCAN demeure responsable de la façon dont elle utilise, recueille et divulgue vos renseignements, chaque individu à la SOCAN est personnellement responsable du maintien et de la protection des données personnelles auxquelles il a accès. De plus, la SOCAN a nommé un officier de protection de la vie privée qui est responsable d’assurer la conformité de l’organisation à la présente Politique.

Toute question concernant la présente Politique ou son application devra être adressée à :

Officier de protection de la vie privée
SOCAN
41 Valleybrook Drive
Toronto, ON M3B 2S6
Téléphone : (416) 445-8700
Sans frais : 1-800-55-SOCAN

Courriel : PrivacyOfficer@socan.com

QUELS SONT LES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS QUE NOUS RECUEILLONS ET POURQUOI

La SOCAN ne recueillera que les renseignements personnels dont elle a besoin pour exercer correctement ses activités et par des moyens justes et licites.

En devenant membre, licencié, employé ou visiteur de la SOCAN, la SOCAN recueillera vos données personnelles aux fins suivantes :

  • afin d’assurer la sécurité, la fiabilité et la qualité de nos réseaux, services, sites Web, ainsi qu’afin d’éviter tout sabotage, dommage et/ou abus de nos réseaux, services et sites Web ;
  • afin d’administrer les droits de nos membres au Canada et à l’étranger ;
  • afin d’octroyer des licences aux utilisateurs ;
  • afin de gérer le répertoire d’œuvres musicales de la SOCAN ;
  • afin d’établir votre identité ;
  • afin de respecter des obligations juridiques ;
  • afin de vous établir en tant qu’employé ;
  • afin de vous protéger, ainsi que la SOCAN, des erreurs et des fraudes ; et
  • à des fins limitées de mise en marché.

La SOCAN pourra également placer un témoin sur votre appareil. Un témoin est un petit fichier texte que notre site peut placer sur votre ordinateur afin d’enregistrer vos préférences. Si vous avez activé l’alerte de témoins dans votre fureteur, vous serez avertis lorsque la SOCAN place un témoin sur votre ordinateur. Grâce à des tiers affiliés comme Google Analytics, nous plaçons des témoins afin de recueillir de l’information sur l’appareil que vous utilisez, son système d’exploitation, l’emplacement inféré de votre adresse IP afin d’identifier votre ordinateur, la durée de votre visite, les pages que vous avez consultées, etc. La SOCAN peut également placer un témoin sur votre appareil lorsque vous visitez le volet sécurisé du site Web de la SOCAN. La SOCAN conserve les renseignements recueillis durant votre visite du volet sécurisé afin de vous permettre d’avoir accès et d’utiliser ce volet sécurisé. Ce témoin expirera lorsque vous vous déconnectez du site sécurisé ou que vous fermez votre fureteur.

La SOCAN pourra également enregistrer votre voix ou votre image lorsque vous communiquez avec la SOCAN par téléphone ou visitez les bureaux de la SOCAN, car votre appel téléphonique et vos déplacements dans les bureaux de la SOCAN pourraient être enregistrés.

    Information que vous nous transmettez

    La plupart des données personnelles à votre sujet recueillies par le SOCAN sont soumises volontairement par vous-même lorsque vous vous abonnez, faites une demande et/ou utilisez un ou plusieurs des services que nous offrons à nos membres, licenciés, employés et/ou visiteurs, lorsque vous devenez employé et/ou communiquez avec la SOCAN. 

    Pour ces raisons, la SOCAN recueille différents types d’information auprès de différents types d’interaction et/ou de personnes. Notez qu’il se peut que vous fassiez partie de plus d’un des types de personnes avec qui la SOCAN interagit.

    Visiteurs :
    Les données personnelles recueillies à votre sujet pourront être recueillies et utilisées par la SOCAN afin de communiquer avec vous, pour des raisons de sécurité, d’assurance-qualité, d’amélioration de la qualité, ainsi que pour répondre aux exigences légales et aux besoins d’affaires légitimes de l’organisation :

    • Type d’appareil
    • Fureteur
    • Type de système d’exploitation
    • Adresse IP
    • Toute autre information que vous pourriez partager avec la SOCAN en communiquant avec l’organisation par courriel, téléphone et/ou correspondance écrite.
    • Enregistrements vidéo de vos déplacements lorsque vous visitez les bureaux de la SOCAN.

    Membres et représentants autorisés :
    Les données personnelles suivantes peuvent être recueillies et utilisées par la SOCAN afin de communiquer avec vous, de se conformer à la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, pour des raisons de sécurité, d’assurance-qualité, d’amélioration de la qualité, pour répondre aux exigences légales et aux besoins d’affaires légitimes de l’organisation, à des fins limitées de mises en marché ainsi que pour l’administration de vos droits :

    • Nom
    • Adresse de résidence
    • Numéro(s) de téléphone
    • Courriel
    • Date de naissance
    • Identifiants (nom d’utilisateur et mot de passe)
    • Numéro d’assurance sociale
    • Numéro de carte de crédit
    • Information financière
    • Citoyenneté
    • Informations sur l’œuvre
    • Contrats de l’auteur/éditeur
    • Informations sur la succession telles que le certificat de décès, le testament, et les informations sur les bénéficiaires
    • Enregistrements vidéo de vos déplacements lorsque vous visitez les bureaux de la SOCAN.
    • Toute autre information que vous pourriez partager avec la SOCAN en communiquant avec l’organisation par courriel, téléphone et/ou correspondance écrite.

    Licenciés et représentants autorisés :
    Les données personnelles suivantes peuvent être recueillies et utilisées par la SOCAN afin de communiquer avec vous, pour des raisons de sécurité, d’assurance-qualité, d’amélioration de la qualité, pour l’administration de vos licences, pour répondre aux exigences légales et aux besoins d’affaires légitimes de l’organisation, et afin de vous offrir les services que vous avez demandés :

    • Personne-ressource principale
    • Adresse
    • Numéro(s) de téléphone
    • Courriel
    • Renseignements financiers
    • Enregistrements vidéo de vos déplacements lorsque vous visitez les bureaux de la SOCAN.
    • Toute autre information que vous pourriez partager avec la SOCAN en communiquant avec l’organisation par courriel, téléphone et/ou correspondance écrite.

    Auprès de nos employés
    Les données personnelles suivantes peuvent être recueillies et utilisées par la SOCAN afin de communiquer avec vous, de se conformer à la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, pour des raisons de sécurité, d’assurance-qualité, d’amélioration de la qualité, pour répondre aux exigences légales et aux besoins d’affaires légitimes de l’organisation, afin d’assurer que vous êtes adéquatement identifiés en tant qu’employé de la SOCAN, afin d’administrer la paie et les programmes d’avantages sociaux, afin de pouvoir communiquer avec la personne à contacter en cas d’urgence si vous êtes impliquée dans une situation d’urgence pendant votre travail :

    • Numéro d’assurance sociale
    • Date de naissance
    • Informations bancaires
    • Personnes à contacter en cas d’urgence
    • Adresse de résidence
    • Numéro(s) de téléphone
    • Courriel
    • Détails sur votre rémunération
    • Détails sur votre régime de retraite et votre RÉER
    • Documentation de gestion du rendement telle que les évaluations, notes de consultation
    • Contrôle des références
    • Scolarisation et expérience professionnelle (curriculum vitae)
    • Une photo pour votre profil d’employé
    • Enregistrements vidéo lorsque vous êtes dans les bureaux de la SOCAN.

    Toute autre information que vous pourriez partager avec la SOCAN en communiquant avec l’organisation par courriel, téléphone et/ou correspondance écrite.

    Renseignements personnels fournis par des tiers

    Certains renseignements personnels recueillis par la SOCAN sont fournis par des tiers, incluant les sociétés sœurs internationales avec qui la SOCAN a des ententes. Ces sociétés nous fournissent des informations portant sur leurs œuvres et l’utilisation du répertoire de la SOCAN hors du Canada. La SOCAN peut également recueillir des renseignements personnels provenant de bases de données externes comme Cis-Net et Cis-Net Tools développées et maintenues par la Confédération internationale des sociétés d’auteurs et compositeurs (CISAC, l’organisation-cadre des sociétés de créateurs à travers le monde) ainsi que du système Interested Parties Information (IPI) développé et maintenu par la Société suisse des Auteurs (SUISA).

    Renseignements personnels concernant d’autres individus

    Si vous nous fournissez des renseignements personnels au sujet d’autres personnes (p. ex. proches parents), vous confirmez que vous avez prévenu ces personnes de ce fait.

    Renseignements publics

    La SOCAN maintient un répertoire public sur son site Web contenant des informations sur les œuvres du répertoire de la SOCAN, incluant les œuvres étrangères pour lesquelles la SOCAN est autorisée à octroyer des licences. Ces informations peuvent inclure des renseignements personnels sur les membres de la SOCAN et/ou les membres des sociétés affiliées à la SOCAN, incluant leur nom, le numéro de l’œuvre, les sociétés affiliées et le numéro IPI.

QUI AURA ACCÈS À VOS RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

La SOCAN s’engage à se conformer aux standards les plus élevés de confidentialité et de discrétion. La SOCAN n’utilisera ou ne divulguera vos données personnelles que pour les fins auxquelles elles ont été recueillies. Cela signifie que la SOCAN partagera avec vous ces renseignements personnels uniquement dans le but de vous offrir ou d’améliorer nos services, et pourra partager certains renseignements personnels spécifiques avec des tierces parties, incluant des tierces parties situées hors du Canada, dont les services ont été retenus afin de :

  • nous aider à vous offrir ou à améliorer nos services, par exemple pour l’hébergement Web, des fournisseurs de maintenance, de plateformes de réservations d’événements, etc.
  • afin de traiter les données d’utilisation des œuvres
  • afin de fournir des services informatique en nuages
  • afin de faciliter l’échange d’information concernant les œuvres que les ayants droit détiennent ou contrôlent, ainsi qu’aux fins de collecte et de répartition des redevances, p. ex. CISAC (par le biais de CIS-Net Tools), les sociétés internationales de gestion collective et le système IPI (SUISA).

Il est strictement interdit à ces tierces parties d’utiliser vos renseignements personnels pour toute autre raison que la prestation des services énumérés ci-devant et elles ont l’obligation de protéger tous les renseignements personnels et de se conformer aux principes généraux de confidentialité décrits dans la présente Politique.

Nous pourrions également partager certains de vos renseignements personnels avec des entreprises affiliées-liées. Outre cela, nous ne partagerons aucun de vos renseignements personnels sans votre consentement, sauf si nous y sommes contraints par la loi.

Sauf quelques exceptions comme des restrictions juridiques ou contractuelles, vous pouvez retirer en tout temps votre consentement à toute collecte, utilisation ou divulgation additionnelle de vos renseignements personnels en communiquant avec l’Officier de protection de la vie privée de la SOCAN. Vous devez toutefois noter que le retrait de votre consentement pourrait empêcher la SOCAN de vous offrir ses services. À titre d’exemple, la SOCAN a besoin de certains renseignements afin de vous enregistrer comme membre, vous octroyer une licence ou pour vous permettre de créer un compte en ligne. Si vous ne nous fournissez pas les renseignements pertinents, nous ne serons pas en mesure d’administrer votre adhésion en tant que membre ou de vous octroyer une licence.

COMBIEN DE TEMPS CONSERVONS-NOUS VOS RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

La SOCAN a mis en place une Politique qui régit la conservation de vos informations personnelles. Nous ne conserverons vos informations personnelles qu’aussi longtemps qu’elles répondent à leur objectif initial ou qu’il est requis légalement. En ce qui concerne le traitement des données personnelles de nos membres, nous les conservons aussi longtemps que vous êtes membre et pendant trois ans par la suite, sauf s’il y a une exigence réglementaire ou commerciale pour la préservation de ces données.

COMMENT NOUS CONSERVONS VOS RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Bien qu’aucune transmission de données via Internet ni système de stockage de données ne puisse être garanti sécurisé à 100 %, la SOCAN a mis en place des contrôles de sécurité qui vous protègent contre l’utilisation, l’accès, la modification, la duplication, la destruction ou la divulgation non autorisés ainsi que contre le vol ou la perte de vos renseignements personnels.

La SOCAN maintient des mesures de sécurité physiques, électroniques et procédurales afin de protéger vos données personnelles. Parmi ces mesures de sécurité on retrouve : accès limité aux zones de traitement et de stockage des données, accès limité aux données pertinentes à des employés autorisés seulement, utilisation de mots de passe, de technologie de pare-feu, cryptage des données transmises électroniquement, logiciels antivirus ainsi que le recours à des méthodes physiques de sécurité incluant des serrures sur les classeurs et les portes.

La SOCAN s’engage également à collaborer avec vous pour la protection de la sécurité de vos données personnelles durant leur transfert vers la SOCAN. De plus, la SOCAN a des ententes et des contrôles en place grâce à des tierces parties qui exigent que toute information transmise à la SOCAN soit transmise et sécurisée selon les normes technologiques de l’industrie.

L’Officier de protection de la vie privée examinera régulièrement les pratiques de la SOCAN afin de vérifier si elles sont conformes à la présente Politique. L’Officier de protection de la vie privée émettra les recommandations nécessaires au respect de la présente politique et établira si certaines révisions doivent être apportées compte tenu des nouvelles pratiques, méthodes, technologies ou de tout autre changement.

COMMENT ACCÉDER ET CONTRÔLER VOS RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Nous vous invitons à réviser ou vérifier vos données personnelles au cours de toute interaction avec la SOCAN. Dans la plupart des cas, la SOCAN recueille directement auprès de vous ces informations personnelles. Si vous constatez des erreurs dans les données de la SOCAN, veuillez communiquer avec nous afin d’effectuer les modifications nécessaires. La SOCAN pourra avoir besoin d’informations spécifiques à votre sujet afin de lui permettre de chercher et de vous présenter l’information que l’organisation a à votre sujet. Notez que l’accès à vos données personnelles est conforme à la politique de rétention de la SOCAN.

La SOCAN remettra à tous ses membres, licenciés et employés un exemplaire de sa politique de confidentialité et fera en sorte que toutes les informations concernant les politiques et les méthodes relatives à la gestion de leurs renseignements personnels soient disponibles à tous.

Toute préoccupation relative au respect de cette politique par la SOCAN doit être signalée par écrit à l’Officier de protection de la vie privée :

Officier de protection de la vie privée
SOCAN
41 Valleybrook Drive
Toronto, ON M3B 2S6
Téléphone : (416) 445-8700
Sans frais : 1-800-55-SOCAN
Courriel : PrivacyOfficer@socan.com

Si vous avez certaines préoccupations concernant la manière dont la SOCAN traite vos données personnelles, notez que vous pouvez également communiquer avec l’organisme de surveillance indépendant suivant :

Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada
Place de Ville
Tour B
112 Kent Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 1H3
Sans frais : 1-800-282-1376
Le Document EEE présente les régulateurs concernés dans l’Union européenne.

MODIFICATIONS À LA PRÉSENTE POLITIQUE

De temps à autre, nous pourrons mettre cette Politique de confidentialité à jour afin de refléter des changements dans nos pratiques relatives aux informations. Nous vous préviendrons lorsque de telles modifications ont lieu en affichant une notification sur notre site Web ou, si ces changements ont une incidence matérielle pour vous, nous communiquerons avec vous par courriel avec les informations sur ces changements. Nous vous invitons à consulter régulièrement notre politique de confidentialité afin d’être au courant de toute modification.

Back to top

Privacy Policy

This Privacy Policy was last modified in June 2020.

  • ABOUT SOCAN
  • SOCAN’s COMMITMENT
  • HOW TO CONTACT US
  • WHAT PERSONAL INFORMATION WE COLLECT AND WHY WE COLLECT IT
    • Information provided by you
    • Personal information provided by third parties
    • Personal information about other individuals
    • Public Information
    • Phone calls and video recording
    • What we do with your personal information
    • Cookies
  • WHO WILL HAVE ACCESS TO YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION
  • HOW LONG DO WE KEEP YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION
  • HOW WE KEEP YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION SECURE
  • INTERNATIONAL TRANSFERS OF PERSONAL INFORMATION
  • HOW YOU CAN ACCESS AND CONTROL YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION
  • CHANGES TO THIS PRIVACY POLICY

 

ABOUT SOCAN

Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada (SOCAN, “we”, “us” or “our”) is Canada’s largest rights management organization that represents the rights of millions of Canadian and international music creators and publishers and grants licences for the use of musical works in its repertoire. SOCAN is proud to play a leading role in supporting the long-term success of its many members, as well as the Canadian music industry.

An important part of SOCAN’s commitment to its members, licensees, employees, and visitors (“you” or “your”) is respect for your right to privacy. SOCAN appreciates the opportunity to provide any of its assistance and services to you and strives to the highest level of service excellence. This means keeping your information and affairs in strict confidence and to be open and transparent regarding our collection, use, disclosure of, and practices regarding your, personal information.

SOCAN’S COMMITMENT

This Policy applies to all of your “personal information” collected, used and disclosed by SOCAN.  “Personal information” means information that is about you as an identifiable individual.

The objective of this Policy is to provide an overview of SOCAN’s business and reflect SOCAN’s commitment to adhere to the legislative requirements of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA), and other applicable privacy legislation, concerning the handling of your personal information.

If you are located in the European Economic Area (EEA), we will only process your personal data for specific purposes and you have certain rights under European law with respect to your personal information, including the right to request access to, correct, amend, delete or limit the use of your personal data.  For more information about these rights, and the purposes and lawful grounds on which we process your personal data, go to the “EEA Document”.  If you wish to exercise these rights or have any questions or concerns, please reach out to us using the contact information below. If you are located in the EEA then this Policy and the EEA Document govern our processing of your personal data. You should review them together. If there is any conflict between these two documents, the EEA Document shall prevail.

Additionally, if you are located in the EEA, we note that we are processing your personal data in order to fulfill membership contracts we might have with you or otherwise to pursue our legitimate interests unless we are required by law to obtain your consent for a particular processing operation.

HOW TO CONTACT US

To ensure SOCAN remains accountable for the manner in which it uses, collects and discloses your personal information, everyone at SOCAN is responsible for maintaining and protecting the personal information to which they have access.

Questions pertaining to this Policy or the application of this Policy may be directed to:

Privacy Officer
SOCAN
41 Valleybrook Drive
Toronto, ON M3B 2S6
Telephone: (416) 445-8700
Toll-free: 1-800-55-SOCAN
Email:  PrivacyOfficer@socan.com

WHAT PERSONAL INFORMATION WE COLLECT AND WHY WE COLLECT IT

SOCAN will only collect personal information needed for it to properly conduct its business and only collect it by fair and lawful means.

Information provided by you

Most personal information collected by SOCAN is voluntarily supplied by you when you sign up, request, and/or utilize any of the services that we provide to our members, licensees, and/or visitors, engage as a SOCAN employee, and/or engage in communications with SOCAN.

For these reasons, SOCAN may collect different types of information from different types of interactions and/or people.  Please note that you may fall under more than one of the below types of people with whom SOCAN interacts.

From Individuals who access SOCAN’s Website or attend SOCAN’s premises:
We may collect the following information from you when you visit SOCAN’s website or SOCAN’s premises:

  • Device type
  • Browser type
  • Operating system type
  • IP address
  • Any other information that you may share with SOCAN through communications with SOCAN via email, telephone, and/or any letters
  • Video recordings of you when you visit SOCAN’s premises

From Members and their Authorized Representative(s):
We may collect the following information from SOCAN Members and their authorized representative(s):

  • Name
  • Home address
  • Telephone number(s)
  • Email address
  • Date of birth
  • Secure login information (password and user ID)
  • Social Insurance Number
  • Credit Card
  • Financial Information
  • Citizenship
  • Works details
  • Writer/publisher contracts
  • Estate information such as death certificate, Will, beneficiary information
  • Any other information that you may share with SOCAN through communications with SOCAN via email, telephone, and/or any letters.

From Licensees and their Designated Representative(s):
We may collect the following information from SOCAN licensees and their designated representative(s):

  • Primary contact name
  • Address
  • Telephone number(s)
  • Email address
  • Financial information
  • Any other information that you may share with SOCAN through communications with SOCAN via email, telephone, and/or any letters.

From Employees:
We may collect the following information from prospective or current SOCAN employees:

  • Social Insurance Number
  • Date of birth
  • Banking information
  • Emergency contact(s)
  • Home address
  • Telephone number(s)
  • Personal email address
  • Compensation details
  • Pension and RRSP details
  • Performance management documentation such as appraisals, counselling notes
  • Background check information
  • Education and past work experiences (resumes)
  • Photograph for employee profile
  • Any information that you may share with SOCAN through communications with SOCAN via email, telephone, and/or any letters.

Personal information provided by third parties

Some personal information collected by SOCAN is provided by third parties, including international collecting societies with whom SOCAN has entered agreements. These societies provide us with information related to their works and information regarding usage of SOCAN’s repertoire outside of Canada. SOCAN may also collect personal information from the Bureau International des Sociétés Gérant les Droits d’Enregistrement et de Reproduction Mécanique and external databases such as Cis-Net and Cis-Net Tools developed and maintained by the International Confederation of Societies of Authors and Composers (CISAC – the umbrella organization for the world’s author’s societies) and the Interested Parties Information (IPI) System developed and maintained by the Société Suisse des Auteurs (SUISA).

Personal information about other individuals

If you provide us with information about other individuals (e.g. your next of kin), you confirm that you have informed the relevant individuals accordingly and have their consent to provide us with their information.

Public information

SOCAN maintains a Public Repertoire on its website that contains information about musical works in SOCAN’s repertoire and foreign repertoire that SOCAN is authorized to license. This information may include personal information of SOCAN members and/or members of international collecting societies affiliated with SOCAN, including names, work numbers, affiliated societies and IPI numbers.

Phone calls and video recording

SOCAN may collect your voice and/or likeness when you call SOCAN or visit certain parts of SOCAN’s premises, as your call to SOCAN may be recorded and your movements on SOCAN’s premises will be subject to being videotaped.

What we do with your Personal Information

When you become a SOCAN member, licensee, or employee, or visit SOCAN or SOCAN’s website, SOCAN will only collect, use, store and process your personal information for legal and legitimate business requirements, including for the following purposes:

  • to administer the rights, in Canada and internationally, of our members;
  • to license users and administer such licences;
  • to manage SOCAN’s repertoire of musical works;
  • to set up and establish your identification;
  • to ensure and improve security, reliability, and quality of our networks, services, website and to avoid any tampering, damage, and/or misuse of our networks, services, and website;
  • to provide you with any services you requested from SOCAN;
  • to comply with legal requirements, obligations, rights or duties under applicable law (including for crime, error and fraud prevention, resolving disputes, enforcing our licenses or agreements, or other related purposes);
  • subject to applicable laws, for limited marketing purposes and to communicate with you;
  • to establish and manage your employment relationship with SOCAN, including to administer payroll and employee benefit programs, and to be able to contact your emergency contact in case we need to notify anyone of your involvement in an emergency situation while at work; and
  • for any other purpose you request or permit upon the collection of your personal information.

Cookies

SOCAN may also place a cookie on your device when you visit SOCAN’s website. A cookie is a small text file that our site may place on your computer as a tool to remember your preferences. If you have cookie notification turned on your device, you will be notified if SOCAN places a cookie on your device. Through third party affiliates, like Google Analytics, we implement cookies to collect information about the device you use to browse, the operating system, the inferred location of your IP address to identify your computer, your visit duration, pages visited etc. In addition, SOCAN may place a cookie on your device when you visit the secure portion of SOCAN’s website. SOCAN will keep the information collected during your visit to the secure site to enable your use of the SOCAN website. Cookies may expire if you log out of the secure site or close your browser.

There are a number of ways to manage or disable cookies.  The “help” portion of the toolbar on most browsers will tell you how to stop accepting cookies, how to be notified when you receive a new browser cookie, and how to disable existing browser cookies. You can also use your mobile device’s settings to manage the available privacy options. However, if you block cookies, you may not be able to register, login or make full use of SOCAN’s website.

WHO WILL HAVE ACCESS TO YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION

SOCAN is committed to a high standard of confidentiality and privacy.  SOCAN will only use and/or disclose your personal information for the reason(s) it was collected.  SOCAN may share your personal information with third parties, including third parties that may be located outside of Canada, engaged to:

  • assist us in providing or improving our services such as web hosting, maintenance providers, event booking platforms, etc.
  • process work usage data
  • provide cloud computing services
  • facilitate exchange of information relating to the works in which rights holders own or control and for the purposes of collection and distribution of royalties e.g. CISAC (through CIS-Net Tools), international collecting societies and IPI System (SUISA)

We may also disclose personal information: (i) to comply with any applicable laws, regulations, governmental and quasi-governmental requests, court orders or subpoenas; or (ii) to protect our rights, property or safety or the rights, property or safety of others (e.g., for crime or fraud protection, etc.).

We may also share some of your personal information with our affiliated or related companies.

In the event that a third party proposes to acquire all or some of our business and/or assets, we may disclose your personal information to that third party in connection with their proposed or actual acquisition.  In the event that we become insolvent or we are in any similar situation, we may also disclose your personal information to third parties as part of a business or asset sale carried out where such disclosure is lawful and compliant with the applicable laws.

We will ensure that third parties who have received your personal information from us will maintain a comparable level of protection of personal information as set out in this Policy by using contractual or other means. To the fullest extent permitted by applicable law, SOCAN excludes all liability arising from the use of your personal information by third parties.

Other than as described in this section that, we will not share any of your personal information without your consent.

HOW LONG DO WE KEEP YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION

SOCAN has a policy in place that governs the retention of your personal information. We will only retain your personal information for as long as it fulfills its intended purpose or as legally required. Where we process membership personal information, we do this for as long as you are a member and for three years after this unless there is a statutory or business requirement to retain this data.

HOW WE KEEP YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION SECURE

While no data transmission over the internet or data storage system is guaranteed to be 100% secure, SOCAN has implemented security controls to protect against unauthorized use, access, alteration, duplication, destruction, disclosure, loss or theft of your personal information.

SOCAN maintains appropriate physical, electronic and procedural safeguards to protect your personal information. Examples of safeguards include: restricted access to our information processing and storage areas, limited access to relevant information by authorized persons only, use of passwords, firewall technology, encryption of electronically transmitted information, antivirus software and the use of physical security measures, including secure locks on filing cabinets and doors.

SOCAN is also committed to working with you to protect the security of personal information during any transfer to SOCAN. Additionally, SOCAN has agreements and controls in place with third party service providers requiring that any information provided to SOCAN be transmitted and safeguarded with the industry standard technological security standards in mind.

INTERNATIONAL TRANSFERS OF PERSONAL INFORMATION

Your personal information may be transferred to, disclosed, stored and/or processed outside your jurisdiction of residence for the purposes set out in the Policy. Such jurisdictions may not be regarded as ensuring an adequate level of protection for personal information and your personal information may be subject to a legal regime outside of your jurisdiction, including access by the courts, law enforcement and national security authorities of that jurisdiction. For more information on the jurisdictions in which your personal information may be transferred to, disclosed, stored or processed, please contact us.

You consent to the transfer, disclosure, storage and/or processing of your personal information outside the jurisdiction in which the information was originally collected. SOCAN will take all steps reasonably necessary to ensure that your personal information is treated securely and in accordance with this Policy.

HOW YOU CAN ACCESS AND CONTROL YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION

Subject to certain exceptions, such as legal or contractual restrictions, you may withdraw your consent at any time to any further collection, use, or disclosure of your personal information by contacting SOCAN’s Privacy Officer. However, you should be aware that if you withdraw your consent SOCAN may be unable to provide services to you. For example, SOCAN requires certain information in order to register you as a member, to grant you a licence or for you to create an online account. If this relevant information is not provided, then we will not be able to administer your membership or grant you a licence.

In the course of interacting with SOCAN, you are welcome to review or verify your personal information. In most cases, SOCAN collects your personal information directly from you. If you discover inaccuracies in SOCAN’s data, please notify SOCAN to make the necessary changes. SOCAN may need specific information from you to enable SOCAN to search for, and provide you with, the personal information SOCAN holds about you.

SOCAN will disclose to its members, licensees, employees, and visitors this Policy and make information available concerning the policies and practices that apply to the management of their personal information.

Any concerns regarding SOCAN’s compliance with this Policy can be reported in writing to the SOCAN Privacy Office (see “How to Contact Us”)

CHANGES TO THIS PRIVACY POLICY

We may update this Policy from time to time to reflect changes to our information practices.  We will alert you by posting a notice on our website when changes are made or if the change is material to you, we will e-mail you with information about the change.  We encourage you to periodically check for the latest information on our Policy.