2013 SOCAN Songwriting Prize Nominees Announced - SOCAN

2013 SOCAN Songwriting Prize Nominees Announced

Monday, June 3, 2013

Toronto – SOCAN – The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada – today announced the five finalists for its eighth annual SOCAN Songwriting Prize (formerly the SOCAN ECHO Songwriting Prize) in English, and the nominees once again reflect the breadth and depth of Canada’s rich songwriting talent.

The nominees for the 2013 English SOCAN Songwriting Prize, as selected by an independent panel of music experts are:

  • “Baby’s Got it” – written and performed by Maylee Todd
  • “Devil’s Got a Gun” – written by Luke Doucet and Melissa McClelland; performed by Whitehorse
  • “Fineshrine” – written by Megan James and Corin Roddick; performed by Purity Ring
  • “Mule in the Flowers – written by Tamara Lindeman and Steven Lambke; performed by The Weather Station feat. Baby Eagle
  • “Sucker” – written and performed by Mo Kenney

Fans can now vote once a day for the duration of the contest atwww.socansongwritingprize.ca. All eligible voters have the opportunity to win a new Apple iPad and Roland headphones just for voting.

The SOCAN Songwriting Prize honours the most creative and artistic songs – English and French – released by independent Canadian songwriters over the past year. The writer(s) of the winning song, as voted by the public between June 3rd and July 3rd, will receive a $5,000 cash prize, as well as a Gibson Les Paul Standard guitar with Gibson’s new Min-ETune technology (valued at $2,500) and a voucher from Roland Canada for $3,000 in Roland products.

The winner will be announced during the week of July 8, 2013.

The five nominated songs were compiled by a panel of music enthusiasts who were asked to select songs that they felt were the most artistic and creatively written independent compositions of the past year. All genres of music were considered.

SOCAN has no role in the selection of nominees or winners.

“The SOCAN Songwriting Prize honours the very best in Canadian independent music,” said Eric Baptiste, CEO of SOCAN. “The panelists have selected five outstanding songs by five amazing nominees, who represent the great range and strength of songwriting that SOCAN members offer to the world. We’re proud to once again recognize and support Canadian independent songwriters with the SOCAN Songwriting Prize – a true reflection of the vast majority of our members, who are independent and working hard to hone their craft to earn a living from their passion to make music.”

This year’s English ECHO Songwriting Prize panelists:

  • Bryan Acker (herohill.com)
  • Denise Benson (journalist/broadcaster/DJ/event producer)
  • Mike Devlin (reporter, Victoria Times Colonist)
  • Grant Lawrence (CBC Radio 3)
  • Joshua Ostroff (Spinner Canada)
  • Jonny Stevens (Halifax Pop Explosion)
  • Greg Torrington (Galaxie)
  • Brad Wheeler (reporter, The Globe and Mail)
  • Lisa Wilton (freelancer, Calgary Sun, Calgary Herald, Metro, FFWD magazine)
  • Jen Zoratti (Uptown Magazine)

Previously announced nominees for the 2013 Prix de la chanson SOCAN, the Francophone counterpart to the SOCAN Songwriting Prize, are:

  • “Batiscan” – written and performed by Keith Kouna
  • “Mappemonde” – written by Stéphanie Boulay; performed by Les sœurs Boulay
  • “Parc’qui m’fallait” – written and performed by Dany Placard
  • “Vénus” – written by Fred Fortin; performed by Gros Mené
  • ”Walkie-Talkie” – written by Stéphane Lafleur, Mathieu Charbonneau, Nicolas Moussette and Joel Vaudreuil; performed by Avec pas d’casque

For all of the latest updates, follow the SOCAN Songwriting Prize on Twitter @SOCANmusic, #SOCANprize, or on Facebook at /SOCANmusic.

Media Contact:

Michael Critchley
Marketing & Communications, SOCAN
416.445.8700 x3784